Martha Wells

The Invisible Woman

Texas, United States
Interests: (94)
alton brown, amanda tapping, amelia peabody, andre norton, anthony stewart head, barack obama, batman, ben browder, benbella books, black gate, buffy, burton guster, christopher judge, city of bones, d.b. woodside, dark fantasy, death of the necromancer, doctor who, dule hill, elemental, elizabeth peters, entanglement, eureka, f.m. busby, fanfic, fanfiction, fantasy, farscape, fiction, firefly, ghost hunters, gina torres, grindhouse: planet terror, hamish macbeth, harpercollins, harvey birdman, hercules: the legendary journeys, ile-rien, iolaus, j.r.r. tolkien, james roday, jane austen, jason momoa, joe flanigan, john sheppard, jon stewart, judith tarr, kathy griffin, land of the giants, leverage, liberal, liberal texan, lois mcmaster bujold, lone star stories, lord of the rings, lost skeleton of cadavra, martha wells, michael hurst, mystery science theater 3000, ncis, nero wolfe, nicholas valiarde, psych, publishing, rachel luttrell, reliquary, rex stout, richard dean anderson, ronon dex, science fiction, sg-1, shawn spencer, space ghost, stargate, stargate atlantis, stargate atlantis: entanglement, stargate atlantis: reliquary, stargate: atlantis, steve zissou, tanith lee, team zissou, texas liberal, teyla emmagan, the cloud roads, the element of fire, the fall of ile-rien, the gate of gods, the life aquatic, the river run, the ships of air, the wizard hunters, venture brothers, wheel of the infinite, writing
Journal for fantasy writer Martha Wells.

Martha Wells was born in 1964 in Fort Worth, Texas, and graduated from Texas A&M University with a B.A. in Anthropology. Her first novel, The Element of Fire, was published by Tor in hardcover in July 1993 and was a finalist for the 1993 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award and a runner-up for the 1994 Crawford Award. The French edition, Le feu primordial, was a 2003 Imaginales Award nominee. Her second novel for Tor, City of Bones, was a 1995 hardcover and June 1996 paperback release. Both novels were on the Locus recommended reading lists. Her third novel The Death of the Necromancer (Avon Eos) was a 1998 Nebula Award Nominee and the French edition was a 2002 Imaginales Award nominee. Her fourth novel Wheel of the Infinite (HarperCollins Eos) was a 2000 hardcover and 2001 December paperback release.

The Cloud Roads The Serpent Sea The Wizard Hunters (HarperCollins Eos/May 2003), The Ships of Air (HarperCollins Eos/July 2004) and The Gate of Gods (HarperCollins Eos/November 2005) are a fantasy trilogy taking place in the world of Ile-Rien from The Element of Fire and The Death of the Necromancer. As of 2004 her books have been translated into eight languages, including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Polish, and Dutch.

Her newest fantasy novels are The Cloud Roads released by Night Shade Books in March 2011. The sequel, The Serpent Sea, was released in January 2012.
Reliquary Cover Entanglement Cover Stargate Atlantis: Reliquary was released in March 2006. Stargate Atlantis: Entanglement was released in March 2007.
Wheel of the Infinite City of Bones The Element of Fire The Wizard Hunters The Ships of Air The Gate of Gods

She has also had short stories in the magazines Realms of Fantasy, Black Gate, the Tsunami Relief charity anthology Elemental, The Year's Best Fantasy #7, the online magazine Lone Star Stories, and an SG-1 story in the January/February 2006 issue of Stargate Magazine. She has nonfiction articles in the non-fiction anthologies Farscape Forever and Mapping the World of Harry Potter from BenBella Books.

V-Gifts (32)