?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Stargate Monuments

marthawells

Martha Wells

My Flying Lizard Circus


Previous Entry Share Next Entry
Stargate in Distance
marthawells

New Book Tuesday and Signing

* Sound by Alexandra Duncan
Sound is the stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan's acclaimed debut novel Salvage, which was praised by internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins as "brilliant, feminist science fiction." For fans of Beth Revis, Firefly, and Battlestar Galactica. As a child, Ava's adopted sister, Miyole, watched her mother take to the stars, piloting her own ship from Earth to space making deliveries. Now a teen herself, Miyole is finally living her dream as a research assistant on her very first space voyage.

* Dancing Through the Fire by Tanith Lee
Tanith Lee's last story collection.

* Promise of the Child by Tom Toner
"To call The Promise of the Child one of the most accomplished debuts of 2015 so far is to understate its weight—instead, let me moot that it is among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years." —Tor.com

* Ming Zhu and the Pearl that Shines by Joyce Chng
Enter the world of Xiao Xiao, daughter of an imperial courtesan, and a fantastical historical Qing China, with dragons and magic and traditions. The adventures of Xiao Xiao and Ming Zhu continue.

* Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie
The stunning conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke award-winning Ancillary Justice. Can't wait to read this!!!!!

* Of Books, and Earth, and Courtship by Aliette de Bodard
In a Paris that never was, a city of magical factions where Fallen angels mingle with magicians, alchemists and witches... Emmanuelle is the Fallen archivist of House Silverspires, and only wants a quiet life with her books. But when Selene, the latest student of Lucifer Morningstar, walks into the library, Emmanuelle finds herself drawn in an adventure to steal from another House. It's a thrilling and dangerous task, but the most dangerous thing about it might just be Selene herself--aloof and resourceful, and unexpectedly attractive...

* Without Light or Guide: Los Nefilim Part Two by T. Frohock
For although Diago Alvarez has pledged his loyalty to Los Nefilim, there are many who don't trust his daimonic blood. And with the re-emergence of his father—a Nefil who sold his soul to a daimon—the fear is Diago will soon follow the same path.

* Letters to Tiptree
For nearly a decade, between 1968 and 1976, a middle-aged woman in Virginia (her own words) had much of the science fiction community in thrall. Her short stories were awarded, lauded and extremely well-reviewed. They were also regarded as “ineluctably masculine”, because Alice Sheldon was writing as James Tiptree Jr. In celebration of the 100th Anniversary of Alice Sheldon’s birth, and in recognition of the enormous influence of both Tiptree and Sheldon on the field, Twelfth Planet Press has published a selection of thoughtful letters written by science fiction and fantasy's writers, editors, critics and fans to celebrate her, to recognise her work, and maybe in some cases to finish conversations set aside nearly thirty years ago.


Signing

Saturday, November 7 at 5:00: Join fantasy authors Martha Wells, Stina Leicht, Amanda Downum, Patrice Sarath, and J. M. McDermott at the Twig Book Shop (306 Pearl Parkway, Suite 106 - San Antonio, TX 78215). There should be copies of all the Raksura books, plus the two Emilie books, plus Star Wars: Razor's Edge.
Tags:

  • 1
*pokes pre-order button*

*pokes again repeatedly*

*realizes this will not, in fact, deliver the book any faster; says bad word quietly under breath*

  • 1